THE.FREAKING.BEER.MILE.

So the whole planning of this started a couple of weeks back with a few text messages that went like … “who’s in for the beer mile?” and then suddenly it was on, we were now getting some waivers and all of that cool crap in our email boxes.

Really, there wasn’t much planning except for making sure to be there and bringing our A game, to drink four beers, and run a mile. For some it would be their first official attempt at this interesting race. So the expectations on time really were uncertain because it didn’t have much to do with the mile itself, it had much to do with the consumption of beer.

So there we were with a couple of hours until it was go time, and folks started showing up to Raley Field in West Sacramento, where the beer mile was about to go down. Before entering the stadium grounds there was some tagging of the shirts … you know NINE.RUN.SIX. style …

IMG_8149

Once through security and check in was completed, the crew of dudes gathered for some pre-race shenanigans and also seriously discussed strategy and walked the course to sort out the beer stations. The dudes that would be partaking in the run included Run BMC, Kev, Brad (who looked like Kenny Powers for the day), Chris, Miller and Brett. Dan was also there but he was in his own zone for the day.

The participants gathered near the stage area, which was nearest the finish line. Here instructions were provided, for us we wanted to know all about the “elite” field … this was the field which all of us were going to jump in on, it was about people who were really trying to race this thing … we are talking for time, with intentions of winning the fucking belt … yes the top male and top female would literally go home with a WWE style championship belt!

After some photos and other blah blah blah stuff … we made our way to the start area for the elite field. Here folks talked to other runners, giving each other some well wishes, and having some fun … if you think trail runners are awesome … beer mile runners are even more awesome …

We were standing around and then boom, we were now off … the first station would be like 20 feet from the start where it was designated to throw down the first of 4 Coor’s Lights in a can …

The first 1/4 mile took us just outside the home run wall of the ball park, where station 2 was for the 2nd beer. This station would also be station 3. After the second beer was consumed we ran along the warning track area of the baseball field, for the second 1/4 mile. We returned to the tables for beer number 3, did another lap around the warning track before exiting near center field for the 4th beer … I happened to take down the warm beer from this table, and it was fucking disgusting! With the fourth beer down only a final 1/4 mile was left to run … This stretch took us back onto the concourse for the finish.

In order of the finish was the winner, Melvin from Yuba City with a time of 5:33 … yes 5:33 … by the way in case you didn’t know it is running clock during the beer stops! The first 9RUN6 dude to cross the line was BMC, followed by Miller … Chris (me) came in at 7:24 … then it was Brad and Brett in the 9’s … last but not least with his beer struggles was Kev in around the the 13 minute mark … it is no joke … the distance is a balance between speed and drinking ability!

After the squad crossed the finish line, it was time to gather and do more fun shit around the event … There might have been some puking involved after the running of the course … I saw some foam coming out of one of our dude’s nose before something spewed from his mouth into a nearby trash bin …

All in all, this was a really fun event! Some of us are already looking at another nearby beer mile event in San Jose this summer … Oh and check out the post race interview with Run BMC.

mmmbop …

What up peeps … well it’s Friday … so that meant we had to go somewhere after the 5:30AM and 6:00AM groups got their run in and some interesting events took place … someone might or might not have been splashed by coffee by a non-9RUN6’er.

Run BMC was in charge of today’s Friday workout and after meeting at the West Steps at 6:25AM he took us what seemed to be 100 miles to get to, we ended up on the West Sacramento side of the river along the River Walk where some stairs were awaiting us.

The workout today included 15 pushups, 15 lunges (each leg), a 20 second plank hold, followed by a set of stairs … the exercises were repeated at the top of the stairs and at the bottom of the stairs … BMC had the idea of us doing a set of 10 … with one set up and one down being 1 rep … so yes the idea would have been to complete 300 push ups, and 300 lunges along with the planks … no one came close to hitting the 10 sets, because BMC set unrealistic goals. He set us up for failure… Yes, I was thinking the same thing … BMC is kind of an asshole. Just kidding Brian we kind of like you, sometimes.

After the workout, we had to push another 1 mile to get to the Capitol before our day of adulting started… yea that think we call work.

Hope everyone has a kick ass weekend and don’t forget to come out tomorrow to cheer on those partaking in the adult beverage mile at Raley Field.

 

It’s not our fault you ran out of talent

Damn that workout was solid and kicked our asses! The morning run groups started off strong … I mean like 15 people deep strong … one of our biggest run groups … possibly the biggest run groups we have ever had.

With the run out of the way, it was time to get our workout on. You know the workout is gonna be awesome when we have to do a demo before the workout takes place so we can do it correctly.

The workout is a version of the Bojan (named after one of the November Project Co-Founders). One partner gets up in downward dog position, while the other partner crawls under, once through, that same person jumps over the partner who goes down in a push-up position. This is repeated 10x, after the 10th rep, that same person does a run out and back (about 50 yards each way).

This was done until each person performed 3 sets … let’s put it this way the workout was pretty challenging that people had to take a break between sets …

After the Bojan, we did 50s that included 50 step ups (each leg), 50 leg lifts, 50 squats and 50 jumping jacks… Just when we thought we were done … NOPE! It’s Wednesday … so we had to end it with some sprints.

HOMEWORK

Visit https://www.facebook.com/events/623519454473939/ and invite all of your friends to Global Running Day on Wednesday June 1.

 

Destination Friday : The Sister Cities

It’s Friday … SO HOLLA BACK! Once again the crew assembled for some furious miles and awesome push-ups, sit ups and squats, with the occasional burpee thrown into the mix … if you were lucky enough to pull a joker.

Today’s workout started with the first 2 groups of running around the downtown, midtown and Old Sacramento routes. While the 6:25AM group made it over to City Hall for the Deck of Cards workout for the morning. 10 rounds of cards with a run thrown into the mix.

Dan might have pulled some pretty awesome cards, or awful depending on how you look at it … his first 5 cards … Kings and Aces …

IMG_7975

Everyone else got their fair share of low and high cards and 3 or 4 Jokers were pulled from the deck, which meant some burpees.

The workout was complete and everyone made their way. Have a great weekend everyone! See you next Wednesday … Good luck to everyone racing this weekend as well.

So some folks ran a marathon this weekend, others ran a half, others supported and others drank … but this morning 8 awesome people still found a way to get their asses out of bed for a run and workout … not one excuse from these people for making it out at 5:30, 6:00 or 6:25AM this morning … so what’s your excuse?

Too far? well brad comes all the way from Orangevale for our workouts … so your excuses are invalid…

The 5:30AM crew got out for their normal run around 3 miles after meeting at the corner of 10th & N Street. After the 3 miles the crew picked up a few more bodies at 6:00 before getting the 6:25AM workout in.

Before the Ping-Pong Ball workout started … one of the grounds keepers came up to ask us if the ice chest in the bushes near the West Steps was ours … we said “NO” … at this moment we decided to move the workout about 100 yards down the way since their next step was to get CHP out to it, to figure out what was in the ice chest … from the looks of things it wasn’t anything that imposed any dangers …

We took on the ping pong ball workout and poor Dan who was part of the crew that ran the Pony Express Marathon, somehow found a way to get a shit load of squats and squat jumps … While Shane had some cry me a river moment when he had to do leg lifts because he did legs and abs at 24 yesterday …

After the ping pong balls were dropped and recollected, it was time for some sprints … the crew busted their asses for these ones and now everyone was ready to start their Wednesday.

Kaila one of our 2016 newbies might have posted on her FB best with the following …

IMG_7940

Like a Faulty Flamingo

IMG_7850

I know we use the term coming strong a lot in these blog post … but let’s be honest today we were strong, in numbers and in attitude … I mean really fuckin’ strong … we are at about half way to #Project30, between all the people who showed up today from the 5:30 &6AM run only groups to the 6:25AM workout group. Not to mention a couple folks we knew who weren’t going to be in attendance today …

We hit up our typical miles to get the morning rolling, then at 6:25AM we gathered at the West Steps were RUN_BMC would lead us to the Promenade for today’s workout of 99 Problems but a Burpee Ain’t One.  The routine called for 3 sets of 33 burpees, 33 star jumps and 33 crunches, followed by an out and back run.

After the awesome workout by the squad we headed back to the West Steps for our farewell to one anothers before starting off our Fridays.

Don’t forget a lot of things going on this weekend!

#PEM2016 Tweet Up – Saturday 11:00AM

CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO

13063009_10156793927365137_4496257718898719707_o

9RUN6 Post-PEM Paint, Pints & Grub @ Yolo Brew SUNDAY at 5PM – Click here for more info.

13076672_686409504795004_8167258370189234525_n

Well it was another Wednesday of running, working out and talking shit to one another … okay maybe just one person throwing around the shit talking …

5:30 and 6:00 AM came in hot with some running action, losing one person before the 6:25AM group rolled around.

At 6:25AM the folks gathered to the West Steps to do their thing. Today we celebrated Alexia’s 25th birthday, which was yesterday. We did it in true 9RUN6 fashion by laying out some exercises and doing each one 25 reps for her 25th. After 5 rounds went by, it was time to mix in our Wednesday sprint workout. Today were 7 short burst up and back from the West Steps to the 10th Street sidewalk.

The crew did it proper and left one another puffing by the end to catch their breath.

Have a kick ass Wednesday everyone!

Let’s run and throw down some cards

13015349_684163691686252_3287208410377358025_n

This morning the group was REALLY REALLY F’ing strong! Like 13 deep during the running portions and 12 at the 6:25AM workout … today we had 7 new people from this year join us all at once …

The group is getting bold today too, some people talking running their first marathon and half marathons.

The crew did their normal running around downtown to mid-town followed by some picking up McRunner for the 6AM hour before meeting at the west steps and heading over to the Crest for the 6:25AM destination workout.

10 rounds of cards with some running followed by more running back to the Capitol building before calling it a day. The homies did really well today, and we hope to see the crew grow in numbers … let’s get that Project 30 rolling strong!

Please return Brad 2.0 to the group

So about 3 weeks ago … a new Brad showed up … we called him New Brad or Brad 2.0 as not to mistake him for Old Brad … Anyways Brad said he was going to come to 6 straight weeks of workouts … he came to 3 … we haven’t seen him in over week but since he committed for 6 weeks up front … we want him back … If you aren’t sure what he looks like here he is …

12933053_674512402651381_486474348671226123_n.jpg

Hop … hop … scotch

12994588_683340855101869_6947411140014145266_n

This morning the crew gathered at the normal 5:30 & 6AM times for the run only groups at the corner of 10th & N Street. After those groups gathered then it was time to emerge onto the West Steps for today’s 6:25AM workout.

Today’s morning workout was a new one lead by the original bad-ass herself Katie. She laid our hopscotch layouts for two teams to divide into and pull out some sort of exercises. The workout went like this … you threw a rock down and whichever it landed on is the exercise that was performed, each movement was done in reps of 20. After each round a run around the west lawn was done then back at throwing down some rocks.

With the hopscotch done, it was time for some Wednesday morning sprint work! Folks are getting faster and goals are being set, we even heard chatter about folks running their first half marathon!

Have a kick ass Wednesday and see you on Friday!